Friday, September 14, 2012

Message from the new Co-Chairs

Dear Section Members,
Welcome to the Ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis section blog.  We are planning to use this as the main way to communicate with our members, so please sign up to receive e-mail notifications, and you will be notified whenever the blog is updated.

We are Dirk vom Lehn and Erik Vinkhuyzen, the new Co-Chairs for the EMCA Section of the American Sociological Association.  We enjoyed the ASA's Annual Meeting in Denver this last August and want to thank Geoff Raymond for his service as section chair these past two years.  It is quite a job for two people we are finding, so thanks to Geoff for all this efforts for the section.
We are already planning for the next ASA, which will be held in New York, August 10-13. The submissions are due on January 9th, 2013, so please start planning!  Note that the ASA web-site says that full papers must be submitted, but this is not a hard requirement, and we will consider extended abstracts as well.  There will be 4 sessions dedicated to our field:

  • The regular session on Ethnomethodology will be organized by Tanya Stivers (UCLA).
  • The regular session on Conversation Analysis will be organized by John Heritage (UCLA).
  • The section's session titled "Linking Micro and Macro: Ethnomethodological and Conversation Analytic Contributions" will be organized by Tim Halkowski (University of Wisconsin).
  • The section's session that will be held instead of the Council Meeting will be organized by Nick Llewellyn (Warwick Business School) and is titled: "Ethnomethodological Studies of Work and Organization"
Patrick Watson (University of Waterloo) has agreed to chair the book award committee.  The award  recognizes an outstanding book (monograph or edited volume) contributing to Ethnomethodology and/or Conversation Analysis.  Eligible works must be published in one of the two calendar years preceding the ASA meeting at which the award is given.  Please contact him if you would like to have your book considered. The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2013.

Jon Hindmarsh (King's College London) has agreed to be the chair of the graduate paper committee.  This award recognizes an outstanding paper written by a graduate student. Submitted papers should address ethnomethodological and/or conversation analytic topics and literature and should read well as stand-alone papers. Maximum length is 10,000 words (excluding references). We seek to support graduate students’ original and best work, so we will consider unpublished papers or articles published in any journal or book. Co-authored papers are only acceptable if all authors are students. Only scholarly essays completed/published between January 1, 2012 and December 31, 2012 will be considered for awards made in August 2013. All nominees must be dues-paying members of the EMCA section (which requires ASA membership) for the year 2013. The Graduate Best Paper Award winner will receive $300 travel reimbursement for the ASA annual meeting in New York.
Submission deadline: March 1, 2013
Send submissions to:

Ruth Parry (University of Nottingham) was elected the new treasurer for the section, and Laura Loeb (UCLA) is the new editor for the newsletter.

We welcome section members who would like to communicate to the whole section to contact us with information that we can post on the blog.  Let's make this is a real forum for information sharing and discussion.

Best wishes,

Dirk vom Lehn
Erik Vinkhuyzen